Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)

Discover everything you need to know about the EYFS here

Early Years Foundation Stage 2021

This is the revised and final EYFS Framework that all registered nurseries, childminders, schools and pre-schools in England will follow from 1 September 2021.

Early years settings, other than registered EYFS reforms early adopters (who must continue to follow the Early Adopter Framework) must continue to follow the current EYFS Framework until 1 September 2021, however the revised Framework is being made available for all settings now to help them prepare for the changes. 

Members can login to download a table with a comparison of changes to the EYFS 2021 against the 2017 guidance here. 

What is the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)?

The EYFS sets the standards you must meet as a childcare provider, for the learning, development and care of children under the age of five in England. All schools and Ofsted-registered early years providers must follow the EYFS.

The Early Years Foundation Stage Statutory Framework provides you with the common principles and commitments to deliver the EYFS.

Read Government EYFS guidance and download EYFS Statutory Framework guidance

Birth to 5 Matters

Birth to 5 Matters is guidance produced by the sector, for the sector, to support the introduction of the revised Early Years Foundation Stage in England in 2021.  

It is non-statutory guidance that practitioners may use to support their implementation of the Statutory Framework for the Early Years Foundation Stage, which sets out the legal requirements for delivering education for children from birth to 5 in England.

2 year progress check update

Download the non-statutory guidance for the early years foundation stage progress check at age two.

Latest EYFS Updates

  • Find out more about EYFS reforms here.

EYFS training

Find NDNA’s leading EYFS training in our shop.